International Safety Awards from the British Safety Council

International Safety Awards from the British Safety Council

Posted 1 week ago

Businesses dedicated to protecting their employees from the risk of injury and ill health at work recognised with International Safety Awards from the British Safety Council

The British Safety Council has announced the winners of its 2015 International Safety Awards, which recognise and celebrate the commitment of the winning organisations to keeping their workers and workplaces healthy and safe during the 2014 calendar year.

This year, 514 organisations of all sizes and sectors from around the world won an International Safety Award, including businesses from the UK, Africa, Asia, mainland Europe, the Middle East and the West Indies. Twenty-nine organisations were awarded a distinction, 320 organisations were awarded a merit and 165 organisations achieved a pass.

The full list of winners is at:

Congratulating the winners, Neal Stone, acting Chief Executive of the British Safety Council, said: “2015 marks the 57th year of the International Safety Awards, which celebrate organisations from around the world that have demonstrated to the satisfaction of the scheme’s independent judges their commitment and dedication to preventing workplace injuries and work-related ill health during the 2014 calendar year.

“The success criteria for the International Safety Awards is challenging and that rightly reflects the importance of achieving good standards of health and safety at work.

“The International Safety Awards shine a light on those businesses who are taking sensible and effective steps to protect employees from the risks of work-related injury and ill health, celebrating their efforts and encouraging other employers everywhere to give workers’ health and safety the priority it rightly deserves.”

He added: “Our vision is that no one should be injured or made ill at work, anywhere in the world, so it is heartening to see that winners of the 2015 International Safety Awards are truly international; from Aluminium Bahrain to Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas Limited; Delhi International Airport to the Rugby Football Union’s Twickenham Stadium in the UK.

“Winners are drawn from a broad range of sectors dealing with different risks – from the construction, housebuilding and civil engineering sector, with winners such as Bovis Homes, Costain, ISG, J Murphy & Sons and Willmott Dixon; to the oil and gas sectors, with winners such as Bahrain National Gas Company, Kuwait National Petroleum Company and Offshore Design Engineering Ltd of Great Yarmouth.

“The transport and distribution sector is also well represented, with winners such as Kenya Airways (Nairobi), MTR Corporation of Hong Kong and National Express’s Birmingham Coach Station in the UK.

“Our warmest congratulations to all of the winners.”

Celebrate at the International Safety Awards Gala Dinner, Friday 24 April 2015
Neal Stone added: “I look forward to celebrating the success of the International Safety Award winners at our spectacular Gala Dinner at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel on the evening of Friday 24 April 2015. The black-tie event will be hosted by well known broadcaster and journalist Louise Minchin and will include formal presentation of the award certificates, official presentation photographs, a three-course dinner and a night of live entertainment and dancing.

“I would also like to extend our invitation to attend the Gala Dinner to any organisation or individual globally that wishes to celebrate the benefits of good health and safety performance. The evening is an ideal way of promoting and publicising your organisation’s health and safety record by inviting customers, clients and business partners to celebrate with you on the night.”